The Nature of Lake St. Clair

Take an educational cruise on Lake St. Clair to discover the rich variety of aquatic life that makes Lake St. Clair so special. Plants, animals, and habitats — including one of the world’s largest fresh water delta — will be explored.

Cruise dates:
Saturday, July 1, 2017 at 10 a.m.
Friday, July 7, 2017 at 2 p.m. 
Saturday, July 15, 2017 at 10 a.m. 

Pricing: $25 adults/$15 under 18 yrs.

Great Lakes Science for Kids


SDC-Lake-Erie-Location-Banner

GLEPLearn about the ecology of Lake St. Clair or Lake Erie, by using the tools a Great Lakes Scientist uses to determine water quality by studying the plants and animals of the lakes. Try your hand at using a plankton net, bottom dredge, water testing kit, underwater camera, and binoculars to discover the exciting nature of the lake and become a Great Lakes Scientist!

Cruise dates:
Thursday, June 29, 2017 at 2 p.m. (Lake St. Clair)
Saturday, July 1, 2017 at 2 p.m. (Lake St. Clair) 
Wednesday, July 5, 2017 at 4 p.m. (Lake St. Clair)
Thursday, July 13, 2017 at 4 p.m. (Lake St. Clair) 
Friday, July 28, 2017 at 10 a.m. (Lake Erie) 
Thursday, August 3, 2017 at 10 a.m. (Lake Erie)
Saturday, August 12, 2017 at 10 a.m. (Lake Erie)

Pricing: $25 adults/$15 under 18 yrs.

Detroit River Revival

Come aboard and join the revival — the Detroit River Revival, that is! Dr. John Hartig, Manager of the Detroit River International Wildlife Refuge, will be our guest cruise director and will share his insights on the incredible revival of the Detroit River, including its habitats, wildlife and fishery resources. Learn how this revival has been accomplished, who has contributed, and what’s in store for the future. This will be a great opportunity to celebrate the progress made as we visit Humbug Island and other gems of the “new” Detroit River.

Cruise dates:
Friday, August 11, 2017 at 6 p.m. 

Pricing: $25 adults/$15 under 18 yrs.